Vaccine Preventable Diseases
Kit Carson County Department of Public Health offers Immunization Clinics throughout the entire county for all ages. Immunizations start in childhood as early as 2 months and continue through the life span. Clinics are held in Burlington, Stratton and Flagler to meet all of the needs of the community.
Please call 719-346-7158 to schedule an appointment or to check if you are up to date on all your immunizations.
Please see the below graphic to explain the process of how an immunization can prevent disease:
(Open phone to camera-When website appears click the icon to be taken to animated graphic)
Immunizations Required to Enter School
Colorado law (Board of Health rule 6 CCR 1009-2) requires all students attending Colorado schools and licensed child cares to be vaccinated against certain diseases, unless an exemption is filed. The minimum number and spacing of doses is set forth in the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Child and Adolescent Immunization Schedules. Meeting the initial vaccine requirements does not excuse a student from meeting additional requirements. In addition to the vaccines required for school entry, there are several vaccines recommended by the ACIP that provide protection against other diseases. These include Meningococcal, Hepatitis A, Rotavirus, Human papillomavirus and Influenza.
Vaccines required to enter child care
- Hepatitis B.
- Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTap)
- Haemophilus influenzatype b (Hib).
- Inactivated poliovirus (IPV).
- Pneumococcal conjugate (PCV13) or polysaccharide(PPSV23).
- Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR).
- Varicella (chicken pox).
Vaccines required to enter school (K-12)
- Hepatitis B.
- Diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis (DTap).*
- Inactivated poliovirus (IPV).*
- Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR).*
- Varicella (chicken pox).*
- Tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis (Tdap).**
*Students 4 through 6 years of age are required to have their final doses of DTaP, IPV,MMR and Varicella prior to kindergarten entry.
**Students are required to have Tdap prior to entry into 6th grade. One dose of Tdap is required for 6th through 12th grades.
All students attending an institute of higher learning provide proof of immunity to measles, mumps and rubella diseases.
New college and university students living in student housing must review and sign the Meningococcal Disease Information Sheet.
- Public Health office in Burlington 1st and 4th Wednesday of the month
- Stratton Medical Clinic in Stratton 1st Friday of the month
- First Congreagational Church Flagler 3rd Wednesday of the month