

KIT CARSON COUNTY

Travis Belden • Sheriff

Joseph Marcos • Undersheriff

Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office • 1650 Donelan Ave., Suite 103 Burlington, Colorado 80807 • Office: 719-346-8934 • Fax: 719-346-7282

Concealed Handgun Permit Information Packet

Please thoroughly read the attached information packet, then complete the Concealed Handgun Permit Application. The application must be printed in ink or typed and completed in full. Please use additional sheets of paper if necessary to respond to the questions. If the application is not fully completed, your application will not be processed. Please wait to sign your application!

Per 18-12-205 (2)(a) an applicant shall complete the permit application form and return it, in person, to the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the applicant resides or to the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the applicant maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business. The applicant shall sign the completed permit application form in person before the sheriff. The applicant shall provide his or her signature voluntarily upon a sworn oath that the applicant knows the contents of the permit application and that the information contained in the permit application is true and correct.

Upon completion, call administration at (719) 346-8934 to schedule an appointment.

To your scheduled appointment, please bring:

- The completed 2 page application. If the application is not fully completed, it will not processed.
- \$63.00 cash, personal check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office or credit card, with an additional (balance due + \$0.75) x 2.25% processing fee. This one fee includes the background check by the Colorado Bureau of Investigation and the processing fee to the Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office. Per C.R.S. 18-12-204 (1) (b), the Concealed Handgun Permit is valid for a period of five years after the date of issuance.
- Valid Colorado Driver's License or valid Colorado or military photo identification
- Documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as specified in section 18-12-203 (1) (h) of the Colorado Revised Statute. (see pages 4 and 5 for further details)

Your appointment will take approximately 25 minutes. Your photograph and signature will be taken, you will be fingerprinted as well.

Pursuant to 18-12-205 (2) (b), neither the permit fee nor the fingerprint processing fee shall be refundable in the event the sheriff denies the applicant's permit application or suspends or revokes the permit subsequent to issuance.

An applicant who knowingly and intentionally makes a false or misleading statement on a permit application or deliberately omits any material information requested on the application commits perjury as described in Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) 18-8-503. Upon conviction, the applicant shall be punished as provided in 18-1.3-501 of the Colorado Revised Statute. In addition, the applicant shall be denied the right to obtain or possess a permit, and the Sheriff shall revoke the applicant's permit if issued prior to conviction.

(The information portion of this packet should be kept for future reference)

18-12-202 Definitions

As used in this part 2, unless the context otherwise requires:

- (1) Repealed.
- (2) "Certified instructor" means an instructor for a firearms safety course who is certified as a firearms instructor by:
 - (a) A county, municipal, state, or federal law enforcement agency;
 - (b) The peace officers standards and training board created in section 24-31-302, C.R.S.;
 - (c) A federal military agency; or
 - (d) A national nonprofit organization that certifies firearms instructors, operates national firearms competitions, and provides training, including courses in personal protection, in small arms safety, use, and marksmanship.
 - (e) This subsection (2) is repealed, effective July 1, 2025.
- (3) "Chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant's normal faculties are impaired" means:
 - (a) The applicant has at any time been committed as a person with an alcohol use disorder pursuant to section 27-81-111 or 27-81-112; or
 - (b) Within the ten-year period immediately preceding the date on which the permit application is submitted, the applicant:
 - (I) Has been committed as a person with an alcohol use disorder pursuant to section 27-81-109 or 27-81-110; or
 - (II) Has had two or more alcohol-related convictions under section 42-4-1301 (1) or (2), C.R.S., or a law of another state that has similar elements, or revocations related to misdemeanor, alcohol-related convictions under section 42-2-126, C.R.S., or a law of another state that has similar elements.
- (3.5) [Editor's note: Subsection (3.5) is effective July 1, 2025.] "Concealed handgun training class" means a concealed handgun training class as described in section 18-12-202.5 and does not include a refresher class.
- (4) "Handgun" means a handgun as defined in section 18-12-101 (1)(e.5); except that the term does not include a machine gun as defined in section 18-12-101 (1)(g).
- (5)
- (a) "Handgun training class" means:
 - (I) A law enforcement training firearms safety course;
 - (II) A firearms safety course offered by a law enforcement agency, an institution of higher education, or a public or private institution or organization or firearms training school, that is open to the general public and is taught by a certified instructor; or
 - (III) A firearms safety course or class that is offered and taught by a certified instructor.
- (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection (5), "handgun training class" does not include any firearms safety course that allows a person to complete the entire course:
 - (I) Via the internet or an electronic device; or.......
 - (II) In any location other than the physical location where the certified instructor offers the course.
- (c) This subsection (5) is repealed, effective July 1, 2025.
- (6) "Permit" means a permit to carry a concealed handgun issued pursuant to the provisions of this part 2; except that "permit" does not include a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to section 18-12-209.
- (6.5) [Editor's note: Subsection (6.5) is effective July 1, 2025.] "Refresher class" means a concealed handgun refresher class as described in section 18-12-202.5 (4).
- (7) "Sheriff" means the sheriff of a county, or his or her designee, or the official who has the duties of a sheriff in a city and county, or his or her designee.

(8) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (8) is effective until July 1, 2025.]

"Training certificate" means a certificate, affidavit, or other document issued by the instructor, school, club, or organization that conducts a handgun training class that evidences an applicant's successful completion of the class requirements.

(8) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (8) is effective July 1, 2025.]

"Training certificate" means a certificate issued by a verified instructor who conducts a concealed handgun training class or a refresher class that evidences an applicant's successful completion of the class requirements.

(9) [Editor's note: Subsection (9) is effective July 1, 2025.]

"Verified instructor" means an instructor for a firearms safety course verified as a firearms instructor by a sheriff pursuant to section 18-12-202.7.

<u>18-12-202.5 Concealed handgun training class – refresher class – rules</u>

- (1) A concealed handgun training class is any of the following:
 - (a) A law enforcement training firearms safety course; or
 - (b) A firearms safety course taught by a verified instructor and offered by a law enforcement agency; an institution of higher education; or a public or private institution, organization, or firearms training school, that is open to the general public and is taught by a verified instructor.
- (2) A concealed handgun training class must be held in person with the instructor of the class at the same location as the students, and no part of the class may be conducted via the internet. A concealed handgun training class must provide a minimum of eight hours of instruction, including the live-fire shooting exercise described in subsection (3)(g) of this section and the written concealed handgun competency exam described in subsection (3)(h) of this section. The eight hours of instruction in a course do not need to be consecutive.
- (3) A concealed handgun training class must include the following elements:
 - (a) Instruction regarding knowledge and safe handling of firearms and ammunition;
 - (b) Instruction regarding safe storage of firearms and child safety;
 - (c) Instruction regarding safe firearms shooting fundamentals;
 - (d) Instruction regarding federal and state laws pertaining to the lawful purchase, ownership, transportation, use, and possession of firearms, including instruction on extreme risk protection orders described in article 14.5 of title 13, requirements for reporting lost or stolen firearms described in section 18-12-113, secure firearms storage requirements described in section 18-12-114, and any other state law enacted within five years before the class that pertains to the purchase, ownership, transportation, use, and possession of firearms;
 - (e) Instruction regarding state law pertaining to the use of deadly force for self-defense;
 - (e.5) Instruction regarding best practices to ensure concealed handgun permit holders safely interact with law enforcement personnel who are responding to an emergency;
 - (f) Instruction regarding techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and how to manage a violent confrontation, including conflict resolution and judgmental use of lethal force;
 - (g) A requirement that a student achieve a minimum seventy percent accuracy score, as determined by the instructor, in a live-fire shooting exercise conducted on a range, which requires discharging at least fifty rounds of ammunition and which does not need to be conducted in a single day; and
 - (h) A requirement that a student achieve a passing score of at least eighty percent on a written concealed handgun competency exam that tests a student's knowledge of the subjects described in subsections (3)(a) to (3)(f) of this section. The exam must be administered as an open book exam.
- (4)

 (a) A concealed handgun refresher class requires a student to demonstrate safety and competence with a handgun. A refresher class must be taught by a verified instructor and must include instruction on changes to federal and state laws related to firearms enacted within five years before the refresher class; a live-fire shooting exercise conducted on a range, which requires discharging at least fifty rounds of ammunition; and a written concealed handgun competency exam that tests a student's knowledge of the subjects described in subsections (3)(a) to (3)(f) of this section.

- (b) A refresher class must be held in person with the instructor of the class at the same location as the students, and no part of the class may be conducted via the internet. A refresher class must include at least two hours of instruction, including the live-fire exercise and the written exam. In order to complete a refresher class, a student must achieve a minimum seventy percent accuracy score, as determined by the instructor, in the live-fire shooting exercise and a passing score of at least eighty percent on the written exam. The exam must be administered as an open book exam.
- (c) A training certificate issued for the completion of a refresher class is valid for renewal of a permit to carry a concealed handgun pursuant to section 18-12-211, but is not valid for an initial application for a permit to carry a concealed handgun pursuant to section 18-12-203 (1)(h)(VI).
- (5) A verified instructor shall provide a training certificate that includes the printed name and original signature of the class instructor to any student who completes a concealed handgun training class or a refresher class so that the student may submit the certificate to a sheriff as part of an initial application for, or an application for renewal of, a permit to carry a concealed handgun. The training certificate must clearly indicate whether the student completed a concealed handgun training class or a refresher class.
- (6) A concealed handgun training class and a refresher class is subject to the requirements of the federal "Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990", 42 U.S.C. sec. 12101 et seq.

18-12-203 Criteria for obtaining a permit

- (1) Beginning May 17, 2003, except as set forth in this section, a sheriff shall issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun to an applicant who:
 - (a) Is a legal resident of the state of Colorado. For purposes of this part 2, a person who is a member of the armed forces and is stationed pursuant to permanent duty station orders at a military installation in this state, and a member of the person's immediate family living in Colorado, shall be deemed to be a legal resident of the state of Colorado.
 - (b) Is twenty-one years of age or older;
 - (c) Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to section 18-12-108 or federal law;
 - (c.5) [Editor's note: Subsection (1)(c.5) is effective July 1, 2025.] Has not been convicted of any of the offenses described in section 24-33.5-424 (3)(b.3) committed on or after July 1, 2025, if the offense is classified as a misdemeanor, and the applicant has not been convicted in another state or jurisdiction, including a military or federal jurisdiction, of an offense that, if committed in Colorado, would constitute any of the offenses described in section 24-33.5-424 (3)(b.3) classified as a misdemeanor offense, within five years prior to filing the permit application;
 - (d) Has not been convicted of perjury under section 18-8-503, in relation to information provided or deliberately omitted on a permit application submitted pursuant to this part 2;
 - (e)
 (I) Does not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant's normal faculties are impaired.
 - (II) The prohibition specified in this subsection (1)(e) shall not apply to an applicant who provides an affidavit, signed by a professional counselor or addiction counselor who is licensed pursuant to article 245 of title 12 and specializes in alcohol addiction, stating that the applicant has been evaluated by the counselor and has been determined to be a recovering alcoholic who has refrained from using alcohol for at least three years.
 - (f) Is not an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance as defined in section 18-18-102 (5). Whether an applicant is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance shall be determined as provided in federal law and regulations.
 - (g) Is not subject to:
 - (I) A protection order issued pursuant to section 18-1-1001 or section 19-2.5-607 that is in effect at the time the application is submitted; or
 - (II) A permanent protection order issued pursuant to article 14 of title 13;
 - (III) A temporary protection order issued pursuant to article 14 of title 13 that is in effect at the time the application is submitted; or

- (IV) A temporary extreme risk protection order issued pursuant to section 13-14.5-103 (3) or an extreme risk protection order issued pursuant to section 13-14.5-105 (2);
- (h) Demonstrates competence with a handgun by submitting:
 - (I) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (1)(h)(I) is effective until July 1, 2025.] Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military service;
 - (I) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (1)(h)(I) is effective July 1, 2025.] Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current military service, or current certification as a peace officer pursuant to article 2.5 of title 16;
 - (II) Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a certified instructor;
 - (III) Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States armed forces within the three years preceding submittal of the application;
 - (IV) Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States armed forces that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application;
 - (V) A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado law enforcement agency that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application; or
 - (VI) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (1)(h)(VI) is effective until July 1, 2025.] A training certificate from a handgun training class obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application. The applicant shall submit the original training certificate or a photocopy thereof that includes the original signature of the instructor. To the extent permitted by section 18-12-202 (5), in obtaining a training certificate from a handgun training class, the applicant shall have discretion in selecting which handgun training class to complete.
 - (VI) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (1)(h)(VI) is effective July 1, 2025.] A training certificate from a concealed handgun training class obtained within the one year preceding submittal of the application. The applicant shall submit the original training certificate that includes the printed name and original signature of the verified instructor. To the extent permitted by section 18-12-202.5, in obtaining a training certificate from a concealed handgun training class, the applicant has discretion in selecting which concealed handgun training class to complete.
- (2) Regardless of whether an applicant meets the criteria specified in subsection (1) of this section, if the sheriff has a reasonable belief that documented previous behavior by the applicant makes it likely the applicant will present a danger to self or others if the applicant receives a permit to carry a concealed handgun, the sheriff may deny the permit.
- (3)

 (a) The sheriff shall deny, revoke, or refuse to renew a permit if an applicant or a permittee fails to meet one of the criteria listed in subsection (1) of this section and may deny, revoke, or refuse to renew a permit on the grounds specified in subsection (2) of this section.
 - (b) Following issuance of a permit, if the issuing sheriff has a reasonable belief that a permittee no longer meets the criteria specified in subsection (1) of this section or that the permittee presents a danger as described in subsection (2) of this section, the sheriff shall suspend the permit until such time as the matter is resolved and the issuing sheriff determines that the permittee is eligible to possess a permit as provided in this section.
 - (c) If the sheriff suspends or revokes a permit, the sheriff shall notify the permittee in writing, stating the grounds for suspension or revocation and informing the permittee of the right to seek a second review by the sheriff, to submit additional information for the record, and to seek judicial review pursuant to section 18-12-207.

Accordingly, a permit routinely will be denied to a person:

• Is ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to section 18-12-108 or federal law;

Specifically, 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(1-9) prohibits the following from possessing, shipping/ transporting, or receiving any firearm or ammunition:

- (1) a person convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment exceeding one year;
- (2) a person who is a fugitive from justice;

- (3) a person who is an unlawful user of or who is addicted to a controlled substance;
- (4) a person who has been adjudicated as a mental defective or who has been admitted to a mental institution;
- (5) an alien who is unlawfully in the United States or who has been admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa;
- (6) a person who has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
- (7) a person who, having been a citizen of the United States, renounces his citizenship;
- (8) a person subject to a court order that was issued after a hearing in which the person participated, which order restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or partner's child, and which order includes a finding that the person is a credible threat to such partner or partner's child, or by its terms prohibits the use, attempted use or threatened use of such force against such partner or partner's child;
- (9) a person who has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
 - Has been convicted of perjury under C.R.S. 18-8-503.
 - Chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant's normal faculties are impaired.
 - Who is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance as defined in section 1818-102 (5). Whether an applicant is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance shall be determined as provided in federal law and regulations.

C.R.S. 24-33.5-424(3) National instant criminal background check system, state point of contact, fee, grounds for denial of firearm transfer, appeal, rule-making, unlawful acts, instant criminal background check case fund, creation.

- (3)
- (a) The bureau, acting as the state point of contact for implementation of 18 U.S.C. sec. 922(t), shall transmit a request for a background check in connection with the prospective transfer of a firearm to the NICS system and may also search other databases. The bureau shall deny a transfer of a firearm to a prospective transferee if the transfer would violate 18 U.S.C. sec. 922 (g) or (n) or result in the violation of any provision of state law involving acts which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a burglary, arson, or any felony involving the use of force or the use of a deadly weapon.
- (b)
- (I) In addition to the grounds for denial specified in paragraph (a) of this subsection (3), the bureau shall deny a transfer of a firearm if, at any time the bureau transmits the request or searches other databases, information indicates that the prospective transferee:
 - (A) Has been arrested for or charged with a crime for which the prospective transferee, if convicted, would be prohibited under state or federal law from purchasing, receiving, or possessing a firearm and either there has been no final disposition of the case or the final disposition is not noted in the other databases; or
 - (B) Is the subject of an indictment, an information, or a felony complaint alleging that the prospective transferee has committed a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year as defined in 18 U.S.C. sec. 921 (a)(20), as amended, and either there has been no final disposition of the case or the final disposition is not noted in the other databases.
- (II) Repealed.
- (b.3) In addition to the grounds for denial specified in subsections (3)(a) and (3)(b) of this section, the bureau shall deny a transfer of a firearm if the prospective transferee has been convicted of any of the following offenses committed on or after June 19, 2021, if the offense is classified as a misdemeanor, or if the prospective transferee has been convicted in another state or jurisdiction, including a military or federal jurisdiction, of an offense that, if committed in Colorado, would constitute any of the following offenses classified as a misdemeanor offense, within five years prior to the transfer:
 - (I) Assault in the third degree, as described in section 18-3-204;
 - (II) Sexual assault, as described in section 18-3-402 (1)(e);

- (III) Unlawful sexual contact, as described in section 18-3-404;
- (IV) Child abuse, as described in section 18-6-401;
- (V) Violation of a protection order, as described in section 18-6-803.5 (1)(a) and (1)(c)(I);
- (VI) A crime against an at-risk person, as described in section 18-6.5-103;
- (VII) Harassment, as described in section 18-9-111 (1)(a);
- (VIII) A bias-motivated crime, as described in section 18-9-121;
- (IX) Cruelty to animals, as described in section 18-9-202 (1)(a) and (1.5);
- (X) Possession of an illegal weapon, as described in section 18-12-102 (4);
- (XI) Unlawfully providing a firearm other than a handgun to a juvenile, as described in section 18-12-108.7 (3); or
- (XII) Unlawful conduct involving an unserialized firearm, frame, or receiver, as described in section 18-12-111.5.

Who presents an extraordinary risk of harm to society such as:

- Assault in the third degree, as defined in section 18-3-204
- Sexual assault, as defined in section 18-3-402
- Sexual assault in the second degree, as defined in section 18-3-403, as it existed prior to July 1, 2000
- Unlawful sexual contact, as defined in section 18-3-404
- Sexual assault in the third degree, as defined in section 18-3-404, as it existed prior to July 1, 2000
- Child abuse, as defined in section 18-6-401 (7)(a)(V)
- Second and all subsequent violations of a protection order as defined in section 18-6-803.5 (1.5)(a.5)
- Misdemeanor failure to register as a sex offender, as described in section 18-3-412.5
- Misdemeanor invasion of privacy for sexual gratification, as described in section 18-3-405.6

18-12-204 Permit contents - validity - carrying requirements

- (1)
- (a) Each permit shall bear a color photograph of the permittee and shall display the signature of the sheriff who issues the permit. In addition, the sheriffs of this state shall ensure that all permits issued pursuant to this part 2 contain the same items of information and are the same size and the same color.
- (b) A permit is valid for a period of five years after the date of issuance and may be renewed as provided in section 18-12-211. A permit issued pursuant to this part 2, including a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to section 18-12-209, is effective in all areas of the state, except as otherwise provided in section 18-12-214.
- (2)
 - (a) A permittee, in compliance with the terms of a permit, may carry a concealed handgun as allowed by state law. The permittee shall carry the permit, together with valid photo identification, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun and shall produce both documents upon demand by a law enforcement officer. Failure to produce a permit upon demand by a law enforcement officer raises a rebuttable presumption that the person does not have a permit. Failure to carry and produce a permit and valid photo identification upon demand as required in this subsection (2) is a class 1 petty offense. A charge of failure to carry and produce a permit and valid photo identification upon demand pursuant to this subsection (2) shall be dismissed by the court if, at or before the permittees scheduled court appearance, the permittee exhibits to the court a valid permit and valid photo identification, both of which were issued to the permittee prior to the date on which the permittee was charged with failure to carry and produce a permit and valid photo identification upon demand.
 - (b) The provisions of paragraph (a) of this subsection (2) apply to temporary emergency permits issued pursuant to section 18-12-209.

- (3)

 (a) A person who may lawfully possess a handgun may carry a handgun under the following circumstances without obtaining a permit and the handgun shall not be considered concealed:
 - (I) The handgun is in the possession of a person who is in a private automobile or in some other private means of conveyance and who carries the handgun for a legal use, including self- defense; or
 - (II)The handgun is in the possession of a person who is legally engaged in hunting activities within the state.
 - (b) The provisions of this subsection (3) shall not be construed to authorize the carrying of a handgun in violation of the provisions of section 18-12-105 or 18-12-105.5.

18-12-207 Judicial review - permit denial - permit suspension - permit revocation - denial, suspension, or revocation of instructor verification

- (1) If a sheriff denies a permit application, refuses to renew a permit, or suspends or revokes a permit, the applicant or permittee may seek judicial review of the sheriff's decision. The applicant or permittee may seek judicial review either in lieu of or subsequent to the sheriff's second review.
- (2) The procedure and time lines for filing a complaint, an answer, and briefs for judicial review pursuant to this section shall be in accordance with the procedures specified in rule 106 (a) (4) and (b) of the Colorado rules of civil procedure.
- (3) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, at a judicial review sought pursuant to this section, the sheriff shall have the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the applicant or permittee is ineligible to possess a permit under the criteria listed in section 18-12-203 (1) or, if the denial, suspension, or revocation was based on the sheriffs determination that the person would be a danger as provided in section 18-12-203 (2), the sheriff shall have the burden of proving the determination by clear and convincing evidence. Following completion of the review, the court may award attorney fees to the prevailing party.
- (4)
 (a) If a sheriff denies a person's application for verification as a firearms instructor or suspends or revokes a person's firearms instructor verification, the person may seek judicial review of the sheriff's decision. The procedure and timelines described in subsection (2) of this section apply to judicial review of a sheriff's decision pursuant to this subsection (4).
 - (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, at a judicial review sought pursuant to this subsection (4), the sheriff has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the evidence that the person does not meet the requirements to be verified as a firearms instructor or satisfies the criteria for suspension or revocation of a firearms instructor verification.

18-12-209 Issuance by sheriffs of temporary emergency permits

- (1) Notwithstanding any provisions of this part 2 to the contrary, a sheriff, as provided in this section, may issue a temporary emergency permit to carry a concealed handgun to a person whom the sheriff has reason to believe may be in immediate danger.
- (a) To receive a temporary emergency permit, a person shall submit to the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the person resides or in which the circumstances giving rise to the emergency exist the items specified in section 18-12-205; except that an applicant for a temporary emergency permit need not submit documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as required under section 18-12-205 (3)(a), and the applicant shall submit a temporary permit fee not to exceed twenty-five dollars, as set by the sheriff. Upon receipt of the documents and fee, the sheriff shall request that the bureau conduct a criminal history record check of the bureau files and a search of the national instant criminal background check system. The sheriff may issue a temporary emergency permit to the applicant if the sheriff determines the person may be in immediate danger and the criminal history record check shows that the applicant meets the criteria specified in section 18-12-203; except that the applicant need not demonstrate competence with a handgun and the applicant may be eighteen years of age or older.
 - (b)

 (I) A temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to this section is valid for a period of ninety days after the date of issuance. Prior to or within ten days after expiration of a temporary emergency permit, the permittee may apply to the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the person resides or in which the circumstances giving rise to the emergency exist for renewal of the permit. The sheriff may renew a temporary emergency permit once for an additional ninety-day period; except that, if the permittee is younger than twenty-one years of age, the sheriff may

renew the temporary emergency permit for subsequent ninety-day periods until the permittee reaches twenty-one years of age.

- (II) If the sheriff is not the same sheriff who issued the temporary emergency permit to the permittee:
 - (A) The permittee shall submit to the renewing sheriff, in addition to the materials described in section 18-12-205, a legible photocopy of the temporary emergency permit; and
 - (B) The renewing sheriff shall contact the office of the sheriff who issued the temporary emergency permit and confirm that the issuing sheriff has not revoked or suspended the temporary emergency permit.

18-12-210 Maintenance of permit - address change - invalidity of permit

- (1) Within thirty days after a permittee changes the address specified on his or her permit or within three business days after his or her permit is lost, stolen, or destroyed, the permittee shall notify the issuing sheriff of the change of address or permit loss, theft, or destruction. Failure to notify the sheriff pursuant to this subsection (1) is a civil infraction.
- (2) If a permit is lost, stolen, or destroyed, the permit is automatically invalid. The person to whom the permit was issued may obtain a duplicate or substitute therefor upon payment of fifteen dollars to the issuing sheriff and upon submission of a notarized statement to the issuing sheriff that the permit has been lost, stolen, or destroyed.
- (3) The provisions of this section apply to temporary emergency permits issued pursuant to section 18-12-209.

18-12-211 Renewal of permits

- **(1)**
- (a) *[Editor's note: This version of subsection (1)(a) is effective until July 1, 2025.]* Within one hundred twenty days prior to expiration of a permit, the permittee may obtain a renewal form from the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the permittee resides or from the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the permittee maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the permittee in a business and renew the permit by submitting to the sheriff a completed renewal form, a notarized affidavit stating that the permittee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified in section 18-12-203 (1)(a) to (1)(g), and the required renewal fee not to exceed fifty dollars, as set by the sheriff pursuant to section 18-12-205 (5). The renewal form must meet the requirements specified in section 18-12-205 (1) for an application.
- (a) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (1)(a) is effective July 1, 2025.] Within one hundred twenty days prior to expiration of a permit, the permittee may obtain a renewal form from the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the permittee resides or from the sheriff of the county or city and county in which the permittee maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the permittee in a business and renew the permit by demonstrating competence with a handgun, as described in subsection (3) of this section, and submitting to the sheriff a completed renewal form; an affidavit stating that the permittee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified in section 18-12-203 (1)(a) to (1)(g); and the required renewal fee not to exceed fifty dollars, as set by the sheriff pursuant to section 18-12-205 (5). The renewal form must meet the requirements specified in section 18-12-205 (1) for an application.
- (b) If the sheriff is not the same sheriff who issued the permit to the permittee:
 - (I) The permittee shall submit to the renewing sheriff, in addition to the materials described in paragraph (a) of this subsection (1), a legible photocopy of the permit; and
 - (II) The renewing sheriff shall contact the office of the sheriff who issued the permit and confirm that the issuing sheriff has not revoked or suspended the permit.
- (c) The sheriff shall verify pursuant to section 18-12-205 (4) that the permittee meets the criteria specified in section 18-12-203 (1)(a) to (1)(g) and is not a danger as described in section 18-12-203 (2) and shall either renew or deny the renewal of the permit in accordance with the provisions of section 18-12-206 (1). If the sheriff denies renewal of a permit, the permittee may seek a second review of the renewal application by the sheriff and may submit additional information for the record. The permittee may also seek judicial review as provided in section 18-12-207.
- (2) A permittee who fails to file a renewal form on or before the permit expiration date may renew the permit by paying a late fee of fifteen dollars in addition to the renewal fee established pursuant to subsection (1) of this section. No permit shall be renewed six months or more after its expiration date, and the permit shall be deemed to have permanently expired. A person whose permit has permanently expired may reapply for a permit, but the person shall submit an application for a permit and the fee required pursuant to section 18-12-205. A person who knowingly and intentionally files false or misleading

information or deliberately omits material information required under this section is subject to criminal prosecution for perjury under section 18-8-503.

- (3) [Editor's note: Subsection (3) is effective July 1, 2025.] A permittee seeking renewal pursuant to this section may demonstrate competence with a handgun by submitting:
 - (a) Evidence of demonstrating competence with firearms through participation in organized shooting competitions, current military service, or current certification as a peace officer pursuant to article 2.5 of title 16;
 - (b) Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor;
 - (c) Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States armed forces that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the renewal form;
 - (d) A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado law enforcement agency that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the renewal form; or
 - (e) A training certificate that includes the original signature of the class instructor from a concealed handgun training class or a refresher class, described in section 18-12-202.5, obtained within six months prior to submitting a renewal form.

18-12-213 Reciprocity

- (1) A permit to carry a concealed handgun or a concealed weapon that is issued by a state that recognizes the validity of permits issued pursuant to this part 2 shall be valid in this state in all respects as a permit issued pursuant to this part 2 if the permit is issued to a person who is:
 - (a) Twenty-one years of age or older; and
 - (b)
- (I) A resident of the state that issued the permit, as demonstrated by the address stated on a valid picture identification that is issued by the state that issued the permit and is carried by the permit holder; or
- (II) A resident of Colorado for no more than ninety days, as determined by the date of issuance on a valid picture identification issued by Colorado and carried by the permit holder.
- (2) For purposes of this section, a valid picture identification means a driver's license or a state identification issued in lieu of a driver's license.

18-12-214 Authority granted by permit - carrying restrictions - local authority

- (1)
- (a) A permit to carry a concealed handgun authorizes the permittee to carry a concealed handgun in all areas of the state, except as specifically limited in this section. A permit does not authorize the permittee to use a handgun in a manner that would violate a provision of state law.
- (b) A peace officer may temporarily disarm a permittee, incident to a lawful stop of the permittee. The peace officer shall return the handgun to the permittee prior to discharging the permittee from the scene.
- (c)
- (I) A local government, including a special district, or the governing board of an institution of higher education, including the board of directors of the Auraria higher education center, may enact an ordinance, resolution, rule, or other regulation that prohibits a permittee from carrying a concealed handgun in a building or specific area within the local government's or governing board's jurisdiction, or for a special district, in a building or specific area under the direct control or management of the district, including a building or facility managed pursuant to an agreement between the district and a contractor. An ordinance, resolution, or other regulation prohibiting a permittee from carrying a concealed handgun may only impose a civil penalty for a violation and require the person to leave the premises. For a first offense, the ordinance, resolution, or other regulation may not impose a fine that exceeds fifty dollars and may not impose a sentence of incarceration. A person who does not leave the premises when required may be subject to criminal penalties.
- (II) If a local government or governing board prohibits carrying a concealed handgun in a building or specific area, the local government or governing board shall post signs at the public entrances to the building or specific area informing persons that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited in the building or specific area. The notice required by this section may be included on a sign describing open carry restrictions posted in accordance with section 29-11.7-104.

- (2) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun into a place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law.
- (2.5) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun into a place where the carrying of concealed handguns is prohibited by a local ordinance, resolution, rule, or other regulation.
- (3) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun onto the real property, or into any improvements erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school; except that:
 - (a) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (3)(a) is effective until January 1, 2025.] A permittee may have a handgun on the real property of the public school so long as the handgun remains in his or her vehicle and, if the permittee is not in the vehicle, the handgun is in a compartment within the vehicle and the vehicle is locked;
 - (a) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (3)(a) is effective January 1, 2025.] A permittee may have a handgun on the real property of the public school so long as the handgun remains in the permittee's vehicle and, if the permittee leaves the vehicle unattended, the permittee stores the firearm pursuant to section 18-12-114.5;
 - (b) A permittee who is employed or retained by contract by a school district or charter school as a school security officer may carry a concealed handgun onto the real property, or into any improvement erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school while the permittee is on duty;
 - (c) A permittee may carry a concealed handgun on undeveloped real property owned by a school district that is used for hunting or other shooting sports.
- (3.5) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun:
 - (a) Onto the real property, or into any improvements erected thereon, of a licensed child care center, as defined in section 18-12-105.5, or a public or private college, university, or seminary in violation of section 18-12-105.5;
 - (b) In a government building in violation of section 18-12-105.3; or
 - (c) At a polling location, drop box, or central count facility, in violation of section 1-13-724.
- (4) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun into a public building at which:
 - (a) Security personnel and electronic weapons screening devices are permanently in place at each entrance to the building;
 - (b) Security personnel electronically screen each person who enters the building to determine whether the person is carrying a weapon of any kind; and
 - (c) Security personnel require each person who is carrying a weapon of any kind to leave the weapon in possession of security personnel while the person is in the building.
- (5) Nothing in this part 2 shall be construed to limit, restrict, or prohibit in any manner the existing rights of a private property owner, private tenant, private employer, or private business entity.
- (6) The provisions of this section apply to temporary emergency permits issued pursuant to section 18-12-209.

COLORADO STATUTES REGARDING FIREARMS

18-1-704 Use of physical force in defense of a person - definitions

- (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section, a person is justified in using physical force upon another person in order to defend himself or a third person from what he reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of unlawful physical force by that other person, and he may use a degree of force which he reasonably believes to be necessary for that purpose.
- (2) Deadly physical force may be used only if a person reasonably believes a lesser degree of force is inadequate and:
 - (a) The actor has reasonable ground to believe, and does believe, that he or another person is in imminent danger of being killed or of receiving great bodily injury; or

- (b) The other person is using or reasonably appears about to use physical force against an occupant of a dwelling or business establishment while committing or attempting to commit burglary as defined in sections 18-4-202 to 18-4-204; or
- (c) The other person is committing or reasonably appears about to commit kidnapping as defined in section 18-3-301 or 18-3-302, robbery as defined in section 18-4-301 or 18-4-302, sexual assault as set forth in section 18-3-402, or in section 18-3-403 as it existed prior to July 1, 2000, or assault as defined in sections 18-3-202 and 18-3-203.
- (3) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (1) of this section, a person is not justified in using physical force if:
 - (a) With intent to cause bodily injury or death to another person, he provokes the use of unlawful physical force by that other person; or
 - (b) He or she is the initial aggressor; except that his or her use of physical force upon another person under the circumstances is justifiable if he or she withdraws from the encounter and effectively communicates to the other person his or her intent to do so, but the latter nevertheless continues or threatens the use of unlawful physical force;
 - (c) The physical force involved is the product of a combat by agreement not specifically authorized by law; or
 - (d) The use of physical force against another is based on the discovery of, knowledge about, or potential disclosure of the victim's actual or perceived gender, gender identity, gender expression, or sexual orientation, including but not limited to under circumstances in which the victim made an unwanted nonforcible romantic or sexual advance toward the defendant. Nothing in this subsection (3)(d) precludes the admission of evidence, which is otherwise admissible, of a victim's or witness's conduct, behavior, or statements.
- (4) In a case in which the defendant is not entitled to a jury instruction regarding self-defense as an affirmative defense, the court shall allow the defendant to present evidence, when relevant, that he or she was acting in self-defense. If the defendant presents evidence of self-defense, the court shall instruct the jury with a self-defense law instruction. The court shall instruct the jury that it may consider the evidence of self-defense in determining whether the defendant acted recklessly, with extreme indifference, or in a criminally negligent manner. However, the self-defense law instruction shall not be an affirmative defense instruction and the prosecuting attorney shall not have the burden of disproving self-defense. This section shall not apply to strict liability crimes.
- (5) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires:
 - (a) "Gender identity" and "gender expression" have the same meaning as in section 18-1-901 (3)(h.5).
 - (b) "Intimate relationship" has the same meaning as in section 18-6-800.3.
 - (c) "Sexual orientation" has the same meaning as in section 18-9-121 (5)(b).

18-1-704.5 Use of deadly physical force against an intruder

- (1) The general assembly hereby recognizes that the citizens of Colorado have a right to expect absolute safety within their own homes.
- (2) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-1-704, any occupant of a dwelling is justified in using any degree of physical force, including deadly physical force, against another person when that other person has made an unlawful entry into the dwelling, and when the occupant has a reasonable belief that such other person has committed a crime in the dwelling in addition to the uninvited entry, or is committing or intends to commit a crime against a person or property in addition to the uninvited entry, and when the occupant reasonably believes that such other person might use any physical force, no matter how slight, against any occupant.
- (3) Any occupant of a dwelling using physical force, including deadly physical force, in accordance with the provisions of subsection (2) of this section shall be immune from criminal prosecution for the use of such force.
- (4) Any occupant of a dwelling using physical force, including deadly physical force, in accordance with the provisions of subsection (2) of this section shall be immune from any civil liability for injuries or death resulting from the use of such force.
- (5) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires, "dwelling" does not include any place of habitation in a detention facility, as defined in section 18-8-211 (4).

18-1-705 Use of physical force in defense of premises

A person in possession or control of any building, realty, or other premises, or a person who is licensed or privileged to be thereon, is justified in using reasonable and appropriate physical force upon another person when and to the extent that it is reasonably necessary to prevent or terminate what he reasonably believes to be the commission or attempted commission of an unlawful trespass by the other person in or upon the building, realty, or premises. However, he may use deadly force only in defense of himself or another as described in section 18-1-704, or when he reasonably believes it necessary to prevent what he reasonably believes to be an attempt by the trespasser to commit first degree arson.

18-1-706 Use of physical force in defense of property

A person is justified in using reasonable and appropriate physical force upon another person when and to the extent that he reasonably believes it necessary to prevent what he reasonably believes to be an attempt by the other person to commit theft, criminal mischief, or criminal tampering involving property, but he may use deadly physical force under these circumstances only in defense of himself or another as described in section 18-1-704.

18-12-105 Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon - unlawful possession of weapons

- (1) A person commits a class 1 misdemeanor if the person knowingly and unlawfully:
 - (a) Carries a knife concealed on or about his or her person; or
 - (b) Carries a firearm concealed on or about his or her person; or
 - (c) Without legal authority, carries, brings, or has in the person's possession any explosive, incendiary, or other dangerous device on the property of or within any building in which the chambers, galleries, or offices of the general assembly, or either house thereof, are located, or in which a legislative hearing or meeting is being or is to be conducted, or in which the official office of any member, officer, or employee of the general assembly is located.
 - (d) (Deleted by amendment, L. 93, p. 964, § 1, effective July 1, 1993.)
- (2) It is not an offense pursuant to this section if the defendant was:
 - (a) A person in his or her own dwelling or place of business or on property owned or under his or her control at the time of the act of carrying; or
 - (b) A person in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance who carries a weapon for lawful protection of such person's or another's person or property while traveling; or
 - (b.5) Carrying a concealed firearm at a specific location in violation of section 1-13-724, 18-12-105.3, or 18-12-105.5; or
 - (c) A person who, at the time of carrying a concealed weapon, held a valid written permit to carry a concealed weapon issued pursuant to section 18-12-105.1, as it existed prior to its repeal, or, if the weapon involved was a handgun, held a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to part 2 of this article; except that it shall be an offense under this section if the person was carrying a concealed handgun in violation of the provisions of section 18-12-214; or
 - (d) A peace officer, as described in section 16-2.5-101, C.R.S., when carrying a weapon in conformance with the policy of the employing agency as provided in section 16-2.5-101 (2), C.R.S.; or
 - (e) (Deleted by amendment, L. 2003, p. 1624, § 46, effective August 6, 2003.)
 - (f) A United States probation officer or a United States pretrial services officer while on duty and serving in the state of Colorado under the authority of rules and regulations promulgated by the judicial conference of the United States.

18-12-105.3. Unlawful carrying of a firearm in government buildings - penalty - definitions - repeal.

- (1) A person shall not knowingly carry a firearm, whether loaded or not loaded, in any of the following locations, including their adjacent parking areas:
 - (a) On the property of or within any building in which:
 - (I) The chambers, galleries, or offices of the general assembly, or either house thereof, are located;
 - (II) A legislative hearing or meeting of the general assembly is being conducted; or

- (III) The official office of any member, officer, or employee of the general assembly is located;
- (b) Unless permitted by a local government, as described in subsection (4)(b) of this section, on the property or within any building in which:
 - (I) The chambers or galleries of a local government's governing body are located;
 - (II) A meeting of a local government's governing body is being conducted; or
 - (III) The official office of any elected member of a local government's governing body or of the chief executive officer of a local government is located; or
- (c) A courthouse or any other building or portion of a building used for court proceedings.
- (2) This section does not apply to:
 - (a) A peace officer carrying a firearm pursuant to the authority granted in section 16-2.5-101 (2);
 - (b) A member of the United States armed forces or Colorado National Guard when engaged in the lawful discharge of the member's official duties;
 - (c) Security personnel employed or retained by an entity that controls or operates a place described in this section and security personnel described in section 24-33.5-216.7 (5) while engaged in the security personnel's official duties;
 - (d) Law enforcement personnel, defense counsel personnel, and court personnel carrying or possessing a firearm in the performance of their official duties as part of the lawful and common practices of a legal proceeding; and
 - (e) A person who holds a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to part 2 of this article 12 who is carrying a concealed handgun in the adjacent parking area of a location listed in subsection (1) of this section.
- (2.3)
 - (a) On and before January 4, 2025, subsection (1)(a) of this section does not apply to a member of the general assembly.
 - (b) This subsection (2.3) is repealed, effective January 5, 2025.
- (3) A person commits unlawful carrying of a firearm in a government building if the person violates subsection (1) of this section. Unlawful carrying of a firearm in a government building is a class 1 misdemeanor.
- (4)
 (a) This section does not prohibit a local government from enacting an ordinance, regulation, or other law pursuant to section 18-12-214 or 29-11.7-104 that prohibits a person from carrying a firearm in a specified place.
 - (b) A local government may enact an ordinance, regulation, or other law that permits a person to carry a firearm at place described in subsection (1)(b) of this section.
- (5) Nothing in this section prohibits a person from securely storing a firearm in a vehicle, as required by state law, that is at a location described in this section.
- (6) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires:
 - (a) "Governing body" has the same meaning set forth in section 29-1-102.
 - (b) "Local government" means any city, county, city and county, special district, or other political subdivision of this state, or any department, agency, or instrumentality thereof.

18-12-105.5 Unlawfully carrying a weapon - unlawful possession of weapons - school, college, or university grounds (1)

(a) A person shall not knowingly and unlawfully and without legal authority carry, bring, or have in the person's possession a deadly weapon as defined in section 18-1-901 (3)(e) that is not a firearm in or on the real estate and all improvements erected thereon of any public or private elementary, middle, junior high, high, or vocational school or any public or private college, university, or seminary; except for the purpose of presenting an authorized public demonstration or exhibition pursuant to instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class, for the purpose of carrying out the necessary duties and functions of an employee of an educational institution that require the use of a

deadly weapon that is not a firearm, or for the purpose of participation in an authorized extracurricular activity or on an athletic team.

- (a.5) A person shall not knowingly carry a firearm, either openly or concealed, in or on the real estate and all improvements erected thereon of any licensed child care center; public or private elementary, middle, junior high, high, or vocational school; or any public or private college, university, or seminary; except for the purpose of presenting an authorized public demonstration or exhibition pursuant to instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class, for the purpose of carrying out the necessary duties and functions of an employee of an educational institution that require the use of a firearm, or for the purpose of participation in an authorized extracurricular activity or on an athletic team.
- (b)
- (I) A person who violates subsection (1)(a) of this section commits a class 6 felony if the weapon involved is a deadly weapon other than a firearm, as defined in section 18-1-901.
- (II) A person who violates subsection (1)(a.5) of this section commits a class 1 misdemeanor.
- (2) (Deleted by amendment, L. 2000, p. 709, § 45, effective July 1, 2000.)
- (3) It is not an offense under this section if:
 - (a) The weapon is unloaded and remains inside a motor vehicle while upon the real estate of any public or private college, university, or seminary; or
 - (b) The person is in that person's own dwelling or place of business or on property owned or under that person's control at the time of the act of carrying; or
 - (c) The person is in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance and is carrying a weapon for lawful protection of that person's or another's person or property while traveling; or
 - (d) Repealed.
 - (d.5) The weapon involved was a handgun, the person held a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to part 2 of this article 12, and the person is carrying the concealed handgun:
 - (I) On the real property, or into any improvements erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school in accordance with the authority granted pursuant to section 18-12-214 (3); or
 - (II) In a parking area of a licensed child care center or a public or private college, university, or seminary; or
 - (e) The person is a school resource officer, as defined in section 22-32-109.1 (1)(g.5), C.R.S., or a peace officer, as described in section 16-2.5-101, C.R.S., when carrying a weapon in conformance with the policy of the employing agency as provided in section 16-2.5-101 (2), C.R.S.; or
 - (f) and (g) (Deleted by amendment, L. 2003, p. 1626, § 51, effective August 6, 2003.)
 - (h) The person has possession of the weapon for use in an educational program approved by a school, which program includes, but is not limited to, any course designed for the repair or maintenance of weapons; or
 - (i) The weapon involved is a firearm; the person carrying the firearm is employed or retained as security personnel by a licensed child care center or a public or private college, university, or seminary; and the person is carrying the firearm while engaged in the person's official duties as security personnel; or
 - (j) A licensed child care center is on the same real estate as another building or improvement that is not a school and that is open to the public and the person is carrying a firearm on an area of real estate or any improvement thereon that is not designated as a licensed child care center.
- (4) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires, "licensed child care center" means a child care center, as defined in section 26.5-5-303 (3), that is licensed by the department of early childhood or is exempt from licensing pursuant to section 26.5-5-304 (1)(b), and that operates with stated educational purposes. "Licensed child care center" does not include a family child care home, as defined in section 26.5-5-303 (7).

18-12-105.6 Limitation on local ordinances regarding firearms in private vehicles

- (1) The general assembly hereby finds that:
 - (a) A person carrying a weapon in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance for hunting or for lawful protection of such person's or another's person or property, as permitted in sections 18-12-105 (2)(b) and 18-12-105.5 (3)(c), may tend to travel within a county, city and county, or municipal jurisdiction or in or through different county, city and county, and municipal jurisdictions, en route to the person's destination;
 - (b) Inconsistent laws exist in local jurisdictions with regard to the circumstances under which weapons may be carried in automobiles and other private means of conveyance;
 - (c) This inconsistency creates a confusing patchwork of laws that unfairly subjects a person who lawfully travels with a weapon to criminal penalties because he or she travels within a jurisdiction or into or through another jurisdiction;
 - (d) This inconsistency places citizens in the position of not knowing when they may be violating local laws while traveling within a jurisdiction or in, through, or between different jurisdictions, and therefore being unable to avoid committing a crime.
- (a) [Editor's note: This version of subsection (2)(a) is effective until January 1, 2025.] Based on the findings specified in subsection (1) of this section, the general assembly concludes that the carrying of weapons in private automobiles or other private means of conveyance for hunting or for lawful protection of a person's or another's person or property while traveling into, through, or within a municipal, county, or city and county jurisdiction, regardless of the number of times the person stops in a jurisdiction, is a matter of statewide concern and is not an offense.
 - (a) *[Editor's note: This version of subsection (2)(a) is effective January 1, 2025.]* Based on the findings specified in subsection (1) of this section, the general assembly concludes that the carrying of weapons in private automobiles or other private means of conveyance for hunting or for lawful protection of a person's or another's person or property while traveling into, through, or within, a municipal, county, or city and county jurisdiction, regardless of the number of times the person stops in a jurisdiction, is a matter of statewide concern and, except as described in section 18-12-114.5, is not an offense.
 - (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no municipality, county, or city and county shall have the authority to enact or enforce any ordinance or resolution that would restrict a person's ability to travel with a weapon in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance for hunting or for lawful protection of a person's or another's person or property while traveling into, through, or within, a municipal, county, or city and county jurisdiction, regardless of the number of times the person stops in a jurisdiction.

33-6-125 Possession of a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle

It is unlawful for any person, except a person authorized by law or by the division, to possess or have under the person's control any firearm, other than a pistol or revolver, in or on any motor vehicle unless the chamber of the firearm is unloaded. Any person in possession or in control of a rifle or shotgun in a motor vehicle shall allow any peace officer who is empowered and acting under the authority granted in section 33-6-101 to enforce articles 1 to 6 of this title 33 to inspect the chamber of any rifle or shotgun in the motor vehicle. For the purposes of this section, a "muzzle-loader" shall be considered unloaded if it is not primed, and "primed" means having a percussion cap on the nipple or flint in the striker and powder in the flash pan. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of one hundred dollars and an assessment of fifteen license suspension points.

18-12-106 Prohibited use of weapons

- (1) A person commits a class 1 misdemeanor if:
 - (a) He knowingly and unlawfully aims a firearm at another person; or
 - (b) Recklessly or with criminal negligence he discharges a firearm or shoots a bow and arrow; or
 - (c) He knowingly sets a loaded gun, trap, or device designed to cause an explosion upon being tripped or approached, and leaves it unattended by a competent person immediately present; or
 - (d) The person has in his or her possession a firearm while the person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or of a controlled substance, as defined in section 18-18-102 (5). Possession of a permit issued under section 18-12-105.1, as it

existed prior to its repeal, or possession of a permit or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to part 2 of this article is no defense to a violation of this subsection (1).

(2)

(a) A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if the person knowingly aims, swings, or throws a throwing star or nunchaku as defined in this subsection (2)(b) at another person, or the person knowingly possesses a throwing star or nunchaku in a public place except for the purpose of presenting an authorized public demonstration or exhibition or pursuant to instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class. When transporting throwing stars or nunchaku for a public demonstration or exhibition or for a school or class, they shall be transported in a closed, nonaccessible

container.

(b) For purposes of this subsection (2), "nunchaku" means an instrument consisting of two sticks, clubs, bars, or rods to be used as handles, connected by a rope, cord, wire, or chain, which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense, and "throwing star" means a disk having sharp radiating points or any disk-shaped bladed object which is hand-held and thrown and which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense.

This Page is Intentionally Blank



Travis Belden • Sheriff

Joseph Marcos • Undersheriff

Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office • 1650 Donelan Ave., Suite 103 Burlington, Colorado 80807 • Office: 719-346-8934 • Fax: 719-346-7282

Kit Carson County Sheriff's Office Verified Firearms Instructors - CHP					
CRAIG, NEWTON	CHP-VI-24-001	practicaltacticalft@gmail.com	719-340-0100		
CRAIG, KRISTI	CHP-VI-24-001	practicaltacticalft@gmail.com	719-340-0116		

This Page is Intentionally Blank

<u>KIT CARSON COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE</u> ADDRESS CHANGE / PERMIT REPLACEMENT / LEGAL NAME CHANGE FORM

WARNING: The information you provide will be verified. Providing false information on this application constitutes a criminal offense for which you may be prosecuted. Print or type all information except signatures.

Type of Request: □ - Address Char			· · ·			Permit Number:
Type of Request: □ - Address Change □ - Permit Replacemen □ - Name Change (Appointment Required)		·	FEE WAIVED FOR ADDRESS CHANGE \$15.00 FEE FOR REPLACEMENT PERMIT		Permit Number.	
Applicant's Name (Last, First, and Middle):					Resident of Colorado? □ - Y □ - N	
Other Names (maiden name, birth n	name, previous marriaç	ges, adoption, al	lias, etc.):			Date of Birth:
*Social Security Number:	Colorado County of	Residence:		Colorado DL o	Colorado DL or ID Number / Military DOD Number:	
Current Home Address:		City / State / Zip:				
Mailing Address if Different from About	ove:			City / State / Z	ip:	
Length of Time at Current Address:		**Home Phon	e:	1	**Personal P	hone:
Previous Address:		City / State / Z	City / State / Zip:			
*Social Security number is vo name who have had contact t				on in the even	t there are o	ther individuals with a similar
	NOTICE OF I	DISCLAIM	ER AND PERSO	NAL INQU	IIRY WAI	VER
REMAIN IN THE SHERIFF'S Handguns have been classif and property damage. I certic Colorado Revised Statutes permit. By issuing this permit, the is liable or responsible for the illimited to, the death of, or injectless, negligent or accidencealed handgun. Further mechanical, or functional fitr By signing this application, I	S OFFICE CONC fied by both Fede ify that I have reac pertaining to the u suing County She manner in which t jury to, any perso ental discharge of more, the issuing ness of the concer acknowledge and	ral and Colo d and undersuse of deadly eriff, Sheriff's the permit ho n or damage a handgun, y County She aled handgud d accept the	APONS FILES. rado law as deadly we stand the information of physical force, and a standard force of the concease of the concea	eapons. They provided in the gree that any sty Sheriffs of led handgun ting either diommitted by stands as Watsoever.	r are capable application with a result rectly or independent or the permit harrantor or the columns. I	rill be cause for revocation of this and employees shall not be held ts of said use, including, but not irectly from the intentional, nolder involving the use of the Guarantor of the structural, hereby certify that all statements
made by me in the completion (deceitfully made) or any fra	on of this applicat ud whatsoever co	ion are, to th onstitutes a b	e best of my knowled pasis for rejection of th	ge, accurate nis application	and true. I un with no fur	understand that any false answer ther consideration. If fraud and/or plication and may result in criminal
						licants who are being considered tary, police, driving records, and
I hereby authorize any perso County Sheriff's Office perta character for use by the issu	ining to the back	ground inves	tigation including, but	not limited to	o, military, p	use any information to the issuing olice, driving records and
I further agree to release and employees from any and all Sheriff's Office in the consid-	liability or claims	which I may				icials, officers, agents, and rmation to the issuing County
This authorization for the rel liability set forth herein shall				n period from	the date he	ereof. Any release of claims or
Applicant's Signature:						
State of Colorado County of Kit Carson Sul	bscribed and swo	rn before me	e this day of	,	by	·

Notary Public

My Commission Expires:

This Page is Intentionally Blank

COUNTY SHERIFFS OF COLORADO

Submitting Sheriff's Office/ Agency_____

CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT APPLICATION

WARNING: The information you provide will be verified. Providing false information on this application constitutes a criminal offense for which you may be prosecuted. Print or type all information except signatures.

Тур	ype of Permit Requested: □- Regular □- Temporary/Emergency □- Renewal Permit Number: Expiration:			c	County of Issue:		
Applicant's Name (Last, First and Middle):				Resident of Colorado? □-Y □-N			
Other Names (nickname, maiden name, alias, etc.):				Date of Birth: (Required)			
*Soc	ocial Security Number: Colorado County of Residence:		e:	Email:			
Curr	rent Home Address:		City/State/Zip:	1	**Area Code + Home l	Phone:	
Mailing Address if Different from Above:		City/State/Zip:		**Daytime Phone - are	:a code + phon		
	gth of Time at Current ress:	If at current address for less than separate sheet of paper for addition			ddresses for the past Ten Years	s: (attach	
1.			3.				
2.			4.				
** V Ap and exp	tact with law enforcement authority oluntary. This information will hele plicant History - If you and attach it to this form. When blanations by preceding each	but may assist in the background investities. It also helps to ensure that your representation in the push contact you if necessary to complete swer "yes" to questions one through the applicable the information push with the number of the pertinonviction"; answer "no" if pardo	ecord will never be ac ete the application pro ough fifteen, prov rovided must includent question. Pri	cidentally r cess. ide a det lude date int or typ	nerged with that of any other individ ailed explanation on a separ es, locations, etc. Reference e all information. Attachmen	ual. ate sheet your t must be	
1.		coholism within the past ten years					
2.	Have you had two or more a	lcohol-related convictions within the	e past ten years?			□-Y □-N	
3.	Have you ever been convicte	ed of perjury under C.R.S. Section	18-8-503?			□-Y □-N	
4.	Are you currently the subject	of either a criminal or civil restrain	ing order?			□-Y □-N	
5.	Are you under indictment or	information in any court for a felony	, or any other crim	e, for which	ch the judge could imprison you	for	
	more than one year?					□-Y □-N	
6.	Have you been convicted in	any court of a felony, or attempt or	conspiracy to com	mit a felor	y, or any other crime for which		
	the judge could have impriso	ned you for <i>more</i> than one year, e	ven if you received	a shorter	sentence including probation?	□-Y □-N	
7.	Are you a fugitive from justic	e?				□-Y □-N	
8.	Are you an unlawful user of,	or addicted to, marijuana, or any de	epressant, stimular	nt, or narc	otic drug, or any other		
		or recreational use of marijuana, altl ssion of firearms pursuant to 18 USC		olorado, i	s illegal pursuant to federal law ar	ıd would	
9.	Have you ever been adjudica	ated mentally defective (which inclu	ıdes having been a	djudicate	d incompetent to manage your		
	own affairs) or have you eve	r been committed to a mental institu	ution?			□-Y □-N	
10.	Have you ever been convict	ed in any court of a misdemeanor o	crime of domestic v	iolence a	s defined in the Code		
	of Federal Regulations, subj	part 478.11?				□-Y □-N	
11.	Have you ever been adjudio	ated as a juvenile for a crime that v	would constitute a f	elony if co	ommitted by an adult or		
	attempt or conspiracy to con	nmit a felony, under any state law o	or federal law?			□-Y □-N	

(form continued on other side)

12.	Have you, within the past five years, been convicted of any of the following misdemeanor offenses <u>committed of after July 1, 2025</u> , or, if convicted in any other state or jurisdiction, of any offense that would constitute any of the following misdemeanor offenses (check Y or N for <u>each</u>):	
	(a) Assault in the third degree under C.R.S. Section 18-3-204?	□-Y □-N
	(b) Sexual assault under C.R.S. Section 18-3-402(1)(e)?	□-Y □-N
	(c) Unlawful sexual contact under C.R.S. Section 18-3-404?	□-Y □-N
	(d) Child abuse under C.R.S. Section 18-6-401?	□-Y □-N
	(e) Violation of a protection order under C.R.S. Section 18-6-803.5(1)(a) or (1)(c)(l)?	
	(f) A crime against an at-risk person under C.R.S. Section 18-6.5-103?	
	(g) Harassment under C.R.S. Section 18-9-111(1)(a)?	□-Y □-N
	(h) A bias-motivated crime under C.R.S. Section 18-9-121?	□-Y □-N
	(i) Cruelty to animals under C.R.S. Section 18-9202(1)(a) or (1.5)?	
	(j) Possession of an illegal weapon under C.R.S. Section 18-12-102(4)?	
	(k) Unlawfully providing a firearm other than a handgun to a juvenile under C.R.S. Section 18-12-108.7(3)?	□-Y □-N
13.	Have you ever been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions?	
14.	Have you ever renounced your United States citizenship?	□-Y □-N
15.	Are you an alien or non-citizen status in the United States? (If "YES" please complete supplemental form)	□-Y □-N
	Please check the type of permit you are applying for and one box under that permit type pertaining to your applic	ation submittal.
□ <u>!</u>	 INITIAL PERMIT A training certificate from a concealed handgun training class (as described in C.R.S. 18-12-202.5) obtated in preceding submittal of this application. It must be the original training certificate that includes the printed national described in C.R.S. 18-12-202.5 	ined within one year
	signature of the verified instructor.	
		ame and <u>original</u>
	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three	ame and original e years preceding
	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor.	ame and original e years preceding estol qualifications obtained
	signature of the verified instructor. ☐ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. ☐ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application.	ame and original e years preceding estol qualifications obtained
	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current results.	ame and original e years preceding stol qualifications obtained military service or current
_ <u>_</u>	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current recrification as a peace officer under article 2.5 of title 16, C.R.S. □ A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualification.	ame and original e years preceding stol qualifications obtained military service or current
_ <u>!</u>	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current recrtification as a peace officer under article 2.5 of title 16, C.R.S. □ A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualification years preceding the submission of this application.	ame and original e years preceding stol qualifications obtained military service or current ons obtained within the raining class or a refresher
_ <u>!</u>	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current recrtification as a peace officer under article 2.5 of title 16, C.R.S. □ A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualification years preceding the submission of this application. RENEWAL PERMIT □ A training certificate that includes the original signature of the class instructor from a concealed handgunt	ame and original e years preceding stol qualifications obtained military service or current ons obtained within the raining class or a refresher
_ !	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current r certification as a peace officer under article 2.5 of title 16, C.R.S. □ A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualification years preceding the submission of this application. RENEWAL PERMIT □ A training certificate that includes the original signature of the class instructor from a concealed handgun to class (as described in C.R.S. 18-12-202.5) obtained within six months preceding submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects piston.	ame and original e years preceding stol qualifications obtained military service or current ons obtained within the raining class or a refresher
_ <u> </u>	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current recrification as a peace officer under article 2.5 of title 16, C.R.S. □ A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualification years preceding the submission of this application. RENEWAL PERMIT □ A training certificate that includes the original signature of the class instructor from a concealed handgun to class (as described in C.R.S. 18-12-202.5) obtained within six months preceding submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pist within the ten years preceding submittal of this application.	e years preceding stol qualifications obtained military service or current ons obtained within the raining class or a refresher ol qualifications obtained
_ <u>_</u>	signature of the verified instructor. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) within the three submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pis within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current retrification as a peace officer under article 2.5 of title 16, C.R.S. □ A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualification years preceding the submission of this application. RENEWAL PERMIT □ A training certificate that includes the original signature of the class instructor from a concealed handgun to class (as described in C.R.S. 18-12-202.5) obtained within six months preceding submittal of this application. □ Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces (DD214) that reflects pist within the ten years preceding submittal of this application. □ Evidence that, at the time this application is submitted, the applicant is a verified instructor. □ Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions, current metals.	e years preceding stol qualifications obtained military service or current ons obtained within the raining class or a refresher ol qualifications obtained ilitary service, or current

NOTICE OF DISCLAIMER AND PERSONAL INQUIRY WAIVER

NOTE TO RECIPIENT: A PHOTOCOPY REPRODUCTION OF THIS SIGNED REQUEST SHALL BE FOR ALL INTENTS AND PURPOSES AS VALID AS THE ORIGINAL. YOU MAY RETAIN THIS FORM IN YOUR FILES. THE ORIGINAL OF THIS FORM WILL REMAIN IN THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE CONCEALED WEAPONS FILES.

Handguns have been classified by both Federal and Colorado law as deadly weapons. They are capable of causing death, serious injury, and property damage. I certify that I have read and understand the information provided in the application packet and the attached Colorado Revised Statutes pertaining to the use of deadly physical force and agree that any violation will be cause for revocation of this permit.

By issuing this permit, the issuing County Sheriff's Office County, County Sheriffs of Colorado and employees shall not be held liable or responsible for the manner in which the permit holder uses the concealed handgun or the results of said use, including, but not limited to, the death of, or injury to, any person or damage to any property resulting either directly or indirectly from the intentional, reckless, negligent or accidental discharge of a handgun, or any criminal acts committed by the permit holder involving the use of the concealed handgun. Furthermore, the issuing County Sheriff's Office in no way stands as Warrantor or Guarantor of the structural, mechanical, or functional fitness of the concealed handgun for any purpose whatsoever.

By signing this application, I acknowledge and accept the terms contained in the Notice of Disclaimer. I hereby certify that all statements made by me in the completion of this application are, to the best of my knowledge, accurate and true. I understand that any false answer (deceitfully made) or any fraud whatsoever constitutes a basis for rejection of this application with no further consideration. If fraud and/or deceit is subsequently discovered, such fraud and/or deceit will become grounds for rejection of this application and may result in criminal charges.

I fully understand that the issuing County Sheriff's Office conducts a background investigation of all applicants who are being considered for a concealed handgun permit. This investigation includes, but is not limited to, an investigation of military, police, driving records, and character.

I hereby authorize any person who is contacted by the issuing County Sheriff's Office personnel to release any information to the issuing County Sheriff's Office pertaining to the background investigation including, but not limited to, military, police, driving records and character for use by the issuing County Sheriff's Office in the consideration of my application.

I further agree to release and hold harmless the issuing County Sheriff's Office, its agencies, elected officials, officers, agents, and employees from all liability or claims which I may have arising out of the disclosure of such information to the issuing County Sheriff's Office in the consideration of my application.

This authorization for the release of information shall be valid for a six (6) month period from the date hereof. Any release of claims or liability set forth herein shall survive the termination of the agreement.

The applicant swears under oath that the contents of the permit application and the information contained in the permit application is true and correct.

Applicant's Signature	Subscribed and sworn before me thisday of,	
	Witness my handSheriff or Designee	

CSOC-CHP REVISED: 05/2025